Sparrow Care Network Board of Managers

The SCN Board of Managers was created to establish and oversee the vision and mission of SCN through the management of operations, policies, procedures, and payer relationships.

Cynthia Buchweitz, M.D. bio

Cynthia Buchweitz, M.D.

Dr. Buchweitz is a graduate of Michigan State University College of Human Medicine and the UM Health-Sparrow/MSU Family Medicine Residency Program. She is board-certified in Family Medicine and has been with Primary Care at Lansing Health Center, Suite 302 since 2001. Dr. Buchweitz currently serves as the practice leader at SMG-North in addition to seeing Patients.

Camy Chapin, MD

Camy Chapin, M.D.

Dr. Chapin received her medical degree from Michigan State University College of Human Medicine and completed her residency in Pediatrics at the UM Health-Sparrow/MSU Residency Program in 2009.  She is board-certified from the American Academy of Pediatrics and has been with Lansing Pediatric Associates since 2009. Dr. Chapin was on the original planning committee for SCN, has served on the SCN Quality Advisory Committee since 2015, and currently serves as the Lansing Pediatrics Pediatrician Representative for the SCN Pediatric Chapter.

Linda Chermak, M.D., headshot for Sparrow Care Network Board of Managers

Linda Chermak, M.D.

Dr. Chermak completed her undergraduate studies at the University of San Diego, and her graduate studies in African History at the University of Cape Town and UCLA. She earned her medical degree from Michigan State University's College of Human Medicine and completed the UM Health-Sparrow Family Medicine Residency program. Since 2013, Dr. Chermak has been a Family Medicine Physician at Family Care Specialists in Charlotte, a primary care practice of Hayes Green Beach (SHE), where she also serves as the PCMH Physician Champion. Dr. Chermak loves teaching medical students and recently received the College of Human Medicine's Community Faculty Member of the Year award.

Douglas Edema, M.D. bio

Douglas Edema, M.D., MPA, FACHE

Dr. Edema is the President of UM Health Partners and Sparrow Care Network. He is responsible for the strategic direction and operations of UM Health-Sparrow’s employed medical group, which now numbers more than 400 providers and Sparrow Care Network which numbers over 600 physicians. Dr. Edema has held various hospital, health plan, and medical group leadership roles throughout his career. He is a graduate of Hope College, the Michigan State University College of Human Medicine and the Grand Rapids Family Medicine Program and received a master’s degree in Public Administration from Western Michigan University.

Greg Holzhei, D.O., headshot for Sparrow Clinton Hospital Board of Directors

Gregory A. Holzhei, D.O., MHA, CPE

Dr. Holzhei completed his undergraduate studies at Michigan State University, medical school at Des Moines University, and residency at Garden City Osteopathic Hospital. Since 2003, Dr. Holzhei has been a Family Physician at UM Health-Sparrow St. Johns Professional Associates. He holds a Master’s Degree in Healthcare Administration and is a Certified Physician Executive. Holzhei, a Board Member for UM Health Partners since 2012, also served as Chief of Staff at Clinton from 2011-2012 and sat on Clinton’s Board of Directors during that time.

Heidi Johnson D.O., headshot for Sparrow Care Network Board of Managers

Heidi Johnson, D.O.

Dr. Johnson is a graduate of the Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine. She completed her internship at MSU Genesys Regional Medicine Center in Flint, Michigan. She completed her Family Medicine residency with MSU at Bay Medical Center in Bay City, Michigan. Dr. Johnson is board-certified in Family Medicine and has been practicing with Primary Care at Lansing Health Center, Suite 302 in Lansing since 2006.

Matt Nobis, CPA, Sparrow Care Network Board of Managers

Matt Nobis, CPA

Matt Nobis joined UM Health-Sparrow in April of 2020 as the System Director of Finance.  Matt has been working in the accounting and finance field for more than 25 years, the last 12 of which in health system leadership positions.  Mr. Nobis is a CPA and holds a bachelor’s degree in Accounting from Michigan State University and an MBA from Indiana University.

Ryan O'Roark, Sparrow Care Network Board of Managers

Ryan O'Roark

Ryan has 24 years of healthcare experience in both the Michigan and Indiana markets.  In his current role as Chief Contracting and Managed Care Operations Officer, Ryan and his team are responsible for all payer contracting and operations activities for the University of Michigan Health, University of Michigan Health – UM Health-Sparrow and University of Michigan Health West.  Ryan’s background includes both payer and provider contracting through various roles at Ascension, Corewell (formerly Oakwood), Covenant Healthcare and HealthPlus of Michigan.  Ryan has extensive background with both fee-for-service and value-based contracting.  Ryan lives in Lake Orion with his wife Jennifer, two very active high-school sons and best four-legged fiend Zoey. 

William Peterson, M.D., headshot for Sparrow Care Network Board of Managers

William Peterson, M.D.

Dr. Peterson received his medical degree from the Michigan State University College of Human Medicine and completed residency training in Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine and a fellowship in Cardiovascular and Thoracic Anesthesiology at Johns Hopkins Hospital. He was an Assistant Professor in Cardiac Anesthesiology before returning to UM Health-Sparrow Hospital at the start of the open heart surgery program in 1994. Previous leadership roles at UM Health-Sparrow Hospital include Medical Director of Cardiovascular Services and Chairman of the Department of Anesthesiology. Dr. Peterson currently serves as the Medical Director of the Operating Room and Anesthesia Services.

Wael Salman, M.D.

Weal Salman, M.D.

Dr. Salman was born in Syria and completed his medical school in Syria.  He did one year of Pediatrics residency in Syria before moving to the US and completed a residency in Internal Medicine at MSU-CHM’s program at Hurley Medical Center in Flint.  He is a Fellow in the American College of Physicians and Board Certified in Internal Medicine.  He is presently a staff internist at Memorial Healthcare in Owosso where he has been active in and held leadership roles on several Medical Staff Committees and was selected as both Physician of the Year (2011) and Humanitarian of the Year (2012).  He has been a member of the SCN Finance Committee since January 2020.