UM Health-Sparrow Eaton awards scholarships to students

Published: June 11, 2024

CHARLOTTE, MI – University of Michigan Health-Sparrow Eaton has awarded $1,000 scholarships to three Eaton County high school students who intend to pursue higher education in a health-related field.  

The scholarships are being awarded with the hope of supporting the graduates in achieving their goals and, in turn, encouraging them to assist UM Health-Sparrow Eaton’s highly skilled team members in their efforts to provide leading-edge and compassionate care close to home.

2024 UM Health-Sparrow Health Care Scholarship recipients for Eaton County are:

  • Julia Hale, of Charlotte, who plans to study Cardiovascular Sonography at Grand Valley State University. 
  • Bennett Macomber, of Grand Ledge, who plans to study Nursing at Saginaw Valley State University.
  • Anika Most, of Grand Ledge, who plans to study Kinesiology at either Central Michigan University or Ohio State University.
UM Health-Sparrow Eaton Scholarships - June 2024

Celebrating their University of Michigan Health-Sparrow Health Care Scholarships are Eaton County students (from left) Bennett Macomber and Julia Hale. They are pictured with (from left) UM Health-Sparrow Eaton Director of Operations Steve Dexter, UM Health-Sparrow Eaton President Linda Reetz and UM Health-Sparrow Eaton Chief Nursing Officer Tiffany Friar. Not pictured: scholarship recipient Anika Most.

For more information on UM Health-Sparrow Health Care Scholarships, go to


University of Michigan Health-Sparrow is Mid-Michigan’s premier health care organization and includes hospitals in Lansing, Carson City, Charlotte, Ionia and St. Johns, as well as UM Health-Sparrow Specialty Hospital, Care Network, the Michigan Athletic Club, and AL!VE. UM Health-Sparrow is part of University of Michigan Health. Through the dedication of our 10,000 team members, UM Health-Sparrow pursues a vision to be nationally recognized as a leader in quality and patient experience. For more information, visit