UM Health-Sparrow Clinton awards scholarships to students

Published: June 12, 2024

ST. JOHNS, MI – University of Michigan Health-Sparrow Clinton has awarded $1,000 scholarships to nine Clinton County high school students who intend to pursue higher education in a health-related field.

The funds for these scholarships have been generously donated by benefactors of UM Health-Sparrow, including the Merten and Geraldine Whyman Health Careers Scholarship Endowment Fund, established in 1986 for Clinton County students pursuing health-related curricula, and the Clinton Physician Impact Fund, dedicated to advancing students in the Clinton community.

The scholarships are being awarded with the hope of supporting the graduates in achieving their goals and, in turn, encouraging them to assist UM Health-Sparrow Clinton’s highly skilled team members in their efforts to provide leading-edge and compassionate care, close to home.

UM Health-Sparrow Clinton Scholarships - June 2024

2024 University of Michigan Health-Sparrow scholarship recipients for Clinton County are (front row, left to right) Katelyn Thelen, Lily Sackrider, Isabella Dankert, Aaron Thomas and UM Health-Sparrow Clinton Chief Nursing Officer Mariah Hesse and (back row, left to right) UM Health-Sparrow Clinton President Mark Brisboe, Bridget Nobach, Ella Schafer, Sophia Pellerito, Nathan Klein, Parker Beebee and UM Health-Sparrow Clinton Chief of Staff Mark Weismiller, MD.

2024 UM Health-Sparrow Health Care Scholarship recipients for Clinton County are:

  • Isabella Dankert, of DeWitt, who plans to study neuroscience at the University of Kentucky.
  • Bridget Nobach, of Portland, who plans to study health administration at Ferris State University.
  • Sophia Pellerito, of DeWitt, who plans to study nursing at Michigan State University.
  • Ella Schafer, of St. Johns, who plans to study biology at Hillsdale College.
  • Katelyn Thelen, of St. Johns, who plans to study exercise science at Adrian College.
  • Aaron Thomas, of DeWitt, who plans to study biomedical engineering at Hope College.
  • 2024 UM Health-Sparrow Clinton Physician Impact Fund Award recipients are:
  • Parker Beebee, of St. Johns, who plans to study public health at Saginaw Valley State University.
  • Nathan Klein, of St. Johns, who plans to study statistics at Michigan State University.
  • Lily Sackrider, of St. Johns, who plans to study biology at Hope College.

For more information on UM Health-Sparrow Health Care Scholarships, go to


University of Michigan Health-Sparrow is Mid-Michigan’s premier health care organization and includes hospitals in Lansing, Carson City, Charlotte, Ionia and St. Johns, as well as UM Health-Sparrow Specialty Hospital, Care Network, the Michigan Athletic Club, and AL!VE. UM Health-Sparrow is part of University of Michigan Health. Through the dedication of our 10,000 team members, UM Health-Sparrow pursues a vision to be nationally recognized as a leader in quality and patient experience. For more information, visit