Sparrow’s Ronald Melaragni named Michigan Pharmacist of the Year

Published: March 12, 2012

Sparrow's Ronald Melaragni has received Michigan's highest honor in the pharmacy profession.

Melaragni, administrative director of Sparrow Pharmacy Plus Pharmacies, was named the Michigan Pharmacist of the Year by the Michigan Pharmacists Association (MPA) during the association's annual convention & exposition held Feb. 24-26.

"I was surprised, honored and humbled to receive this recognition," said Melaragni. "This award is especially important to me because it comes from my peers."

During his time at Sparrow, Melaragni has been influential in developing special projects to enhance the work of pharmacy staff and help Sparrow achieve its mission of providing quality care to every Patient, every time. He has been active in Michigan pharmacy for more than 45 years.

The MPA Pharmacist of the Year Award is given to a pharmacist who demonstrates professional excellence and exemplary service to the profession in advancing public health at either the state or local level. This pharmacist displays all the traits and characteristics of someone with a true commitment to advancing the pharmacy profession and Michigan's health care system.

Melaragni has been active in various local associations and committees, and is currently a member of Capital Area Pharmacists Association. Melaragni served as MPA president in 2008, and is a former member of the Michigan Pharmacy Foundation Board of Trustees, the Michigan Society of Community Pharmacists Board of Directors and the MPA Political Action Committee.

For more information, contact Laura Hall at 517.364.2216.