Sparrow honors 2016 Physician of the Year, Hall of Fame

Iftiker Ahmad, M.D., headshot for Board of Directors
Iftiker Ahmad, M.D.
Patricia Crowe, M.D.

Published: May 4, 2016

Iftiker Ahmad, M.D., Chair of the Board of Managers of Sparrow Care Network, is Sparrow’s 2016 Physician of the Year.

Patricia Crowe, M.D., Medical Director of the Sparrow Medical Group Urgent Care and FastCare practices, received the Sparrow Physician Leadership Award.

They, along with four others inducted into Sparrow’s Physician Hall of Fame, were honored during the recent annual Sparrow Physician Recognition Dinner at the University Club of Michigan State University.

Sparrow is proud to recognize what Physicians have done to transform care and improve the health of the people in the mid-Michigan region.

Dr. Ahmad serves as President of the Michigan Gastroenterology Institute.In addition to providing outstanding Patient care, he has been an integral part of making Sparrow Care Network, a 500-plus Physician Clinically Integrated Organization, a successful and thriving entity. Sparrow Care Network is led by Physicians driving care transformation.

Dr. Crowe has focused on improving Patient care and providing better access in the mid-Michigan region, which is reflected in the new Sparrow FastCare practices that opened in 2015. Two new locations are being added this year.

Inductees into Sparrow’s Physician Hall of Fame can be nominated by colleagues or members of the community. This year’s inductees include:

  • Gioara Adam, M.D., as an Ophthalmologist, has been involved in training and teaching Ophthalmology to Emergency Medicine residents and was active in the evaluation of abused babies (Shaken Baby Syndrome) and providing photographic documentation.
  • Daniel Havlichek Jr., M.D., as an Infectious Disease specialist, has held numerous academic and administrative positions at Michigan State University’s College of Human Medicine. Dr. Havlichek served as Interim Chair of the CHM Department of Medicine and was Vice-Chair for the Sparrow Department of Medicine.He is currently Chief of the Division of Infectious Diseases, Department Vice-Chair for Communities, and Program Director for the Sparrow-MSU Infectious Disease Fellowship.
  • Edward Lanigan, M.D., as a highly skilled surgeon, has had several leadership roles at Sparrow, including serving as Chief of Plastic Surgery and serving on the Surgical Executive Committee. He recently retired after nearly 30 years of dedicated service withMSU’s Department of Surgery.
  • James McGillicuddy II, M.D., has greatly enjoyed serving the mid-Michigan region for the past 42 years as a Thoracic Surgeon, Pediatric Surgeon, Vascular Surgeon, General Surgeon and in his role as Herniologist at the Lansing Hernia Center. Dr. McGillicuddy’s love of politics was satisfied by serving as Director of the Michigan State Medical Society, as Chief of Staff at Sparrow Hospital, and as President of the Lansing Rotary Club.

Choose Wisely. Choose Sparrow.