Sparrow honors 2011 Physician of the Year

Published: May 2, 2011

LANSING, Mich. - Longtime Sparrow Clinton Hospital surgeon Donald L. Porter, M.D., has received the Sparrow 2011 Physician of the Year award. He, along with four others inducted into Sparrow's Physician Hall of Fame, were honored during the 2011 Physician Recognition Dinner on April 30 at the Country Club of Lansing. The annual dinner is hosted by the Sparrow Women's Board of Managers and sponsored by PNC Bank.

Porter has been an integral part of Sparrow Clinton for 31 years. He has served as a general surgeon at Sparrow Clinton Hospital's for more than 30 years, and held several physician leadership positions, including chief of staff, service chief of Surgical Specialties, and a member of the Clinton Hospital's Board of Directors. A graduate of Albion College and the University of Michigan Medical School, Porter completed his surgical residency at Wayne State Affiliated Hospitals and established his surgical practice in St. Johns in 1980.

"Dr. Porter is a physician of great skill and talent who has earned the respect and admiration of his peers and of the community he serves," said Candy Parker, president of the Sparrow Women's Board of Managers. "He has built his career around excellence in patient care, community involvement and continuous learning and teaching."

Porter was selected by an internal health system committee consisting of members from administrative leadership, the women's board of managers and hospital board of directors. Candidates for this award, which has been given annually since 2006, can only be nominated by fellow physicians. Nomination forms are sent out in the fall.

In addition to the award bestowed on Porter, four physicians were inducted into the Sparrow Physician Hall of Fame. Inductees can be nominated by either work colleagues or members of the community. This year's inductees are:

  • Ronald Horowitz, M.D., a pathologist and Medical Director of Sparrow Regional Laboratories. He has served as a president of the Ingham County Medical Society and is a Michigan delegate to the College of American Pathologists' House of Delegates;
  • L. Rao Kareti, M.D., one of the region's most respected surgeons. He has worked tirelessly for his patients throughout his career. He is also a dedicated mentor and recipient of multiple teaching awards from Michigan State University's College of Human Medicine;
  • Ronald Rhule, D.O., an emergency and family medicine specialist. He is also a decorated veteran with 42 years of military service. He has an extensive academic background, holding a bachelor of science in physical anthropology and psychology from Wayne State University and a certificate in biomedical engineering from the University of Michigan. He graduated from the MSU College of Osteopathic Medicine;
  • Harry Wise III, M.D., (posthumously). He was the former chair of Sparrow's Ob-Gyn Department, Medical Director of the Sparrow Antepartum Testing Center and staff physician at the Perinatal Center. He was known by many as a man of high intellect, humor and uncompromising integrity. His unexpected death in November 2010 was a great loss to Sparrow, as well as the Michigan region.