Sparrow Clinton Hospital Nurse earns DAISY Award Honors

Published: February 23, 2022

ST. JOHNS, MI – Sparrow Clinton Hospital recognized a medical/surgical nurse known for her compassionate care and always putting patients first with the DAISY Award for outstanding nursing.

Teresa Miller, RN, was among 13 Sparrow Clinton nurses nominated for the award by patients and their families. Miller was nominated by a patient who appreciated her kind, attentive, and helpful attitude. This is Miller’s second time to receive a DAISY Award at Sparrow Clinton Hospital.

“It’s an honor to be nominated again and very touching to receive another DAISY Award,” Miller said. “I always try to listen and help our patients feel safe.” 

DAISY Committee nurses presented Miller with the award, a certificate of recognition, a DAISY pin, and a hand-carved sculpture entitled The Healer’s Touch. In addition, a DAISY Foundation banner signed by Miller and previous DAISY Award winners will be posted in the hospital.

“Our DAISY Award nominees personify the remarkable patient experience at Sparrow Clinton Hospital,” said Sparrow Clinton Chief Nursing Officer Mariah Hesse, BSN, RN, CENP. “It’s an honor to work with the DAISY program to recognize our exceptional nurses. Sparrow Clinton Nurses have a real passion for nursing and exemplify the very best standards of advocacy and excellence.” 

The nominees included from Surgical Services: Robert Beals, RN; Cynthia Bush, BSN, RN; Teri Carey, BSN, RN; Brittany Hagerman, BSN, RN; Melanie Kotowicz, BSN, RN, CNOR; from unit 2 West: Melissa Ball, RN; Brandon Burton, RN; Tanya Glew, RN; Jodie Hills, BSN, RN, CMSRN; Teresa Miller, RN; Gretchen Priess, BSN, RN, CMSRN; Leticia Riley, BSN, RN; and Lori Sparks, BSN, RN.

The DAISY Award is an international program that rewards and celebrates the extraordinary, compassionate and skillful care given by nurses every day. Nurses are nominated by their patients and patients’ families.

Sparrow Clinton honors two nurses each year as DAISY Award recipients. In addition, a DAISY Team Award is presented as merited. To nominate an exceptional Sparrow Clinton nurse or Nursing Team, complete and return a form from one of The DAISY Foundation displays at the hospital.

Sparrow Clinton Hospital DAISY Nurse Nominees | Feb. 23, 2022

Teresa Miller, RN, (center) was named Sparrow Clinton Hospital’s first DAISY Award recipient of 2022. DAISY nominees (front left) attending the ceremony included Leticia Riley, BSN, RN; Melissa Ball, RN; Teri Carey, BSN, RN; Gretchen Priess, BSN, RN, CMSRN (back left); Tanya Glew, RN; Brittany Hagerman, BSN, RN; Cynthia Bush, BSN, RN; and Robert Beals, RN. Nominees not pictured are Melanie Kotowicz, BSN, RN, CNOR; 2 West: Jodie Hills, BSN, RN, CMSRN; Lori Sparks, BSN, RN; and Brandon Burton, RN.

Sparrow Clinton Hospital Nurse Leaders | Feb. 23, 2022

Sparrow Clinton Hospital nurse leaders (from left) Belinda Cook, Mariah Hesse, Adrianne Sanders and Billie Curtiss congratulate Teresa Miller on her second DAISY Award.


Sparrow is Mid-Michigan’s premier healthcare organization and includes hospitals in Lansing, Charlotte, St. Johns, Ionia and Carson City as well as Physicians Health Plan, Sparrow Care Network, Sparrow Medical Group, the Michigan Athletic Club, and AL!VE. Sparrow is affiliated with Michigan Medicine through the Sparrow Children’s Center and with Michigan State University’s three human health colleges. Through these partnerships and the dedication of our 10,000 Caregivers, Sparrow pursues a vision to be nationally recognized as a leader in quality and Patient experience. For more information, visit