Sparrow Clinton Hospital Foundation awards 2019 scholarships

Published: July 10, 2019

ST. JOHNS, MI – Clinton County students pursuing healthcare careers recently received $2,000 each in scholarship assistance from the Sparrow Clinton Hospital Foundation.

2019 Whyman Scholarship winners are Samantha Jo Drake of Westphalia, attending Michigan State University for nursing; Brooke Gnegy of St. Johns, attending Saginaw Valley State University for nursing; Aubrey Kiel of St. Johns, attending Grand Valley State University for diagnostic medical sonography; and Meagan Moeggenborg of St. Johns, attending Northern Michigan University for clinical laboratory science.

Additional winners are Lilyanna Schafer of Westphalia, attending Grand Valley State University for nursing; Ashlyn Simon of Fowler, attending Lansing Community College for psychology; Emma Tomlinson of Eagle, attending Mid-Michigan Community College for physical therapy; Christina White of St. Johns, attending Benedictine University for a master’s degree in public health with a certificate in epidemiology; Anna Wilkinson of Ovid, attending Michigan State University for nursing; and Abigail Wohlfert of Fowler, attending Alma College for integrative physiology and health science.

The Merten and Geraldine Whyman Health Careers Scholarship Fund, an endowment fund established in 1986, provides annual scholarships for education in a health-related field to Clinton County residents. The fund has grown, thanks to additional contributions by community members. To date, 302 students have received Whyman scholarships, representing a total education investment of more than $316,600.

For more information about this scholarship or other philanthropic projects, call the Sparrow Clinton Hospital Foundation at 989.227.3323.