Sparrow Clinton Hospital Foundation awards 2015 scholarships

Published: June 19, 2015

Clinton County students pursuing health care careers recently each received $1,500 in scholarship assistance from the Sparrow Clinton Hospital Foundation in St. Johns.

2015 Whyman Scholarship winners are Alexandra Davis of St. Johns, Emily Esch of Fowler, Bethany Fransted of St. Johns, Carol Nesbitt of Eagle, Lyndsay Pung of St. Johns, Alex Rosenbaum of St. Johns, Chelsea Rossow of St. Johns, Chase Thelen of Westphalia, Hannah VanValkenburg of St. Johns, and Alexandra Hallenbeck.

The Merten and Geraldine Whyman Health Careers Scholarship Fund, an endowment fund established in 1986, provides annual scholarships for education in a health-related field to Clinton County residents. The fund has grown, thanks to additional contributions by community members. To date, 262 students have received Whyman scholarships, representing a total education investment of more than $236,600.