Michigan-based clinically integrated network selects leaders

William J. Mayer, M.D., M.P.H.

Published: Jan. 19, 2016

In July, six of Michigan’s leading health systems (Allegiance Health in Jackson, Bronson Healthcare in Kalamazoo, Covenant HealthCare in Saginaw, Lakeland Health in St. Joseph, MidMichigan Health in Midland and Sparrow Health System in Lansing) announced they were coming together to form a still-to-be-named clinically integrated network (CIN) of providers and health systems.

While each of the health systems and hospitals continue to operate independently, together they offer the size, scale and scope to deliver better health at lower cost for employers and individuals and provide sophisticated population health management across the state.

A 12-member Board of Managers, comprised of member system Physicians and CEOs, provides the strategic direction for the Network. This week, the board announced the selection of one of its board members, William J. Mayer, M.D., M.P.H., as its first President and Chief Executive Officer.

Dr. Mayer comes from the Bronson Healthcare system where he served most recently as Senior Vice President, Managed Care and Community Health. His executive responsibilities over the past decade at Bronson have included: President and Medical Director IBA Health Plans (2005-07); Vice President Medical Staff Clinical Quality (2007-09); Chief Quality Officer (2009-11); and Chief Medical Informatics Officer (2011-15). He is also currently on the faculty of Western Michigan University Homer Stryker, MD School of Medicine.

Dr. Mayer’s career history includes positions with the National Cancer Institute of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, MD; Wyatt Health Care Consulting (now Towers Watson) in Washington DC; the Kellogg Company in Battle Creek; and the L. Lee Stryker Center at Kalamazoo College. He received his bachelor’s degree from Amherst College, his Doctor of Medicine degree from State University of New York at Buffalo, and his Master of Public Health degree from The Johns Hopkins University School of Public Health.

"I am honored to be selected for this extraordinary opportunity,” Dr. Mayer said. “It is a privilege to be working together with the outstanding people of our six founding health systems to build upon our collective track record of excellent health care. I look forward to partnering with Physicians and collaborating with Patients, employers, and health plans across the state to deliver better health at a more affordable cost in the months and years ahead.”

Dr. Mayer assumed his new position with the CIN on Dec. 14, 2015. Board Chairperson Dennis Swan, President and CEO of Sparrow Health System, says, “In addition to his experience as a Physician, Dr. Mayer’s vast leadership experience in a health system, a managed care plan, a self-insured employer, a national health care consulting firm and in education give him unique insights into how to effectively partner with others to improve health care and deliver greater value. We are fortunate to have Dr. Mayer as our chief executive officer and welcome his talents and leadership skills.”

Critical to the success of the CIN is a Physician-led, data driven approach to sharing best practices that will help member organizations reduce variations in care, lower total health care costs, and improve the health of Patients and communities served by the network. Guiding this work along with Dr. Mayer is the Network’s Board of Managers. They are:

  • Georgia Fojtasek, RN, EdD, President and CEO, Allegiance Health
  • Ray King, MD, Chief Medical Officer, Allegiance Health, President & CEO, Jackson Health Network
  • Frank Sardone, President & CEO, Bronson Healthcare
  • Kevin Albosta, Chief Financial Officer, Covenant HealthCare
  • Michael Slavin, MD, Medical Director, Covenant HealthCare PHO
  • Loren B. Hamel, MD, President & CEO, Lakeland Health –Board Vice Chairperson
  • Ken O’Neill, MD, Vice President, Clinical Integration, Lakeland Health
  • Diane Postler-Slattery, PhD, President & CEO, MidMichigan Health – Board Secretary
  • Madhura Mansabdar, MD, Chief Clinical Integration Medical Officer, MidMichigan Health
  • Dennis Swan, President & CEO, Sparrow Health System – Board Chairperson
  • Harman Nagler, MD, MHSA, Vice President of Clinical Integration, Sparrow Health System