Hunt, Armstrong join Sparrow Board of Directors

David M. Hunt, Sr., headshot for Board of Directors
David M. Hunt
John Armstrong, M.D.

Published: Jan. 23, 2012

LANSING, Mich. - Sparrow welcomes two new members to its Board of Directors, David M. Hunt of DeWitt and John Armstrong, MD, of Okemos.

Greg Brogan was re-elected Chair of the Board and Barbara Given, PhD, is the Board's newly elected Vice Chair for 2012. The 14-member Board oversees Sparrow Health System, which includes Sparrow Hospital in Lansing.

Hunt is a community leader who joined the Sparrow Clinton Hospital Board of Directors in 2003 and has served as that board's Chair and Vice Chair. He is also a member of the Sparrow Audit Committee. He is the owner and president of Big Boy Restaurants in St. Johns, Mason, Essexville and Stevensville.

Armstrong is Sparrow's new Chief of the Medical Staff. He was elected by active Sparrow physicians to serve as their representative to the hospital board, the executive management team and the community.

Given is a Michigan State University College of Nursing Distinguished Professor and Associate Dean for research. She has spent 45 years in MSU's College of Nursing.

Additional members of the Sparrow Board of Directors are: Richard Bruner; James W. Butler, III; Patrick Gribben; David Kaufman, DO; Curtis Keck; Michael King; Lance R. Lynch; Candy Parker; Theda Rudd; and Dennis A. Swan, who is also President and CEO of Sparrow Health System.

For more information, contact Laura Hall at 517.364.2216.