Dick Iding honored with 2015 Sparrow Founders’ Award

Published: March 12, 2015

Lansing businessman Dick Iding has been recognized with Sparrow’s highest honor, the 2015 Sparrow Founders’ Award.

Iding’s family has owned and managed Bud Kouts Chevrolet (now Feldman’s Bud Kouts Chevrolet) for decades. He now serves as Dealer Principal. Iding is a dedicated member of the region. He serves on the Sparrow Community Care Board and has served on the Sparrow Foundation Board. Iding is a member of the Michigan Automobile Dealers Association, Lansing Rotary and Capital City Corvette Club and a past member of the Lansing Safety Council.

Iding has sponsored Sparrow’s annual Hike/Bike for Hospice, along with his brothers, for nearly 15 years. The event is very close to their hearts as their mother was cared for at Sparrow’s Hospice House of Mid-Michigan.

“Dick has generously helped raised awareness about end-of-life services in our region,” said Dennis Swan, President and CEO, Sparrow Health System. “We are deeply thankful for his ongoing commitment to Sparrow and Sparrow Hospice Services. We are proud to honor him.”

The Founders’ Day celebration marks Sparrow’s 119th year of service to the mid-Michigan region. Sparrow was founded in 1896 by a group of 114 female volunteers as the Lansing Women’s Hospital. In 1912, a new hospital was built at the current site at 1215 E. Michigan Ave., taking the name of Lansing businessman and benefactor Edward W. Sparrow.

Past recipients of the award include former CEO of Delta Dental and member of the Sparrow Hospital/Health System and Physicians Health Plan Boards Patrick P. Gribben, Jr.*; longtime Volunteer Mary Jane (McClintock) Wilson; former Sparrow Senior Vice President of Operations Ira Ginsburg; former Sparrow Board Chairperson Lance Lynch; community leader Virginia Hilbert*; Sparrow volunteer and longtime board member Evelyn Scheffel*; former Sparrow President and CEO F. Karl Neumann; Mason businessman Frank Guerriero*; community leader Duane Vernon; former Sparrow Vice President and Director of Nursing Sue Tadgerson*; former Sparrow Hospital/Health System Board Chairs, Marylee Davis, Ph.D., and Mary Jessup; former Michigan State University Athletic Director Ron Mason; TV-10 sports anchor Tim Staudt; former executive director of the Michigan Medical Society Kevin A. Kelly*; and Physicians Dr. William Harrison*, Dr. Mahlon Sharp* and Dr. Joseph Sheets*.

*denotes deceased