Gribben posthumously honored, 2014 Sparrow Founders’ Award

Patrick Gribben
Patrick P. Gribben, Jr.

Published: March 18, 2014

The late community leader Patrick P. Gribben, Jr. was recognized posthumously today with Sparrow's highest honor, the 2014 Sparrow Founders' Award.

Gribben served as CEO of Delta Dental for 25 years, and was a member of the Sparrow Board of Directors and the Physicians Health Plan Board. He died in 2013 and was awarded Board Member Emeritus status posthumously.

"Patrick's service had a great impact on Sparrow and PHP's reputation for service and quality," said Dennis Swan, President and CEO, Sparrow Health System. "We are enormously proud to honor such an outstanding business leader who gave so much to others over his lifetime."

Today's Founders' Day celebration marks Sparrow's 118th year of service to the mid-Michigan community. Sparrow was founded in 1896 by a group of 114 female volunteers as the Lansing Women's Hospital. In 1912, a new hospital was built at the current site at 1215 E. Michigan Ave., taking the name of Lansing businessman and benefactor Edward W. Sparrow.

Click here to see our photo album from Founders' Day.

Past recipients of the award include longtime Volunteer Mary Jane (McClintock) Wilson; former Sparrow Senior Vice President of Operations Ira Ginsburg; former Sparrow Board chairperson Lance Lynch; community leader Virginia Hilbert*; Sparrow volunteer and longtime board member Evelyn Scheffel*; former Sparrow President and CEO F. Karl Neumann; Mason businessman Frank Guerriero*; community leader Duane Vernon; former Sparrow Vice President and Director of Nursing Sue Tadgerson*; former Sparrow Hospital/Health System Board Chairs, Marylee Davis, PhD, and Mary Jessup; former Michigan State University Athletic Director Ron Mason; TV-10 sports anchor Tim Staudt; former executive director of the Michigan Medical Society Kevin A. Kelly*; and physicians Dr. William Harrison*, Dr. Mahlon Sharp* and Dr. Joseph Sheets*.*= Deceased